Saturday, 16 November 2013

Sarah's Review of Evermore by Alyson Noel

Evermore by AlysonNoel is the first in “the immortals” series. I have previously read them all, but wanted to revisit them as I enjoyed them so much. And even though I had already read it, I still found that every time I had to put the book down I just wanted to pick it up again and see what was going to happen next! Alyson Noel is one of my favourite authors. She has this way of writing that reels you in and keeps you there. Her rich descriptions make you feel as though you are a part of it.

This first book, Evermore, in her series introduces you to Ever Bloom. A sixteen year old girl who lost her parents, little sister, and dog after a terrible car accident. For some reason she was the only one to survive and is now residing with her aunt. Ever since the accident she has been bothered with psychic abilities that she cannot control and therefore has become a bit of a freak at her school, as she tries to drown out everyone’s thoughts with a hoodie and earphones. She can hear other people’s thoughts and see their auras. She has made two best friends at the school who are a bit of outcasts themselves. Haven is a co-dependent girl who tries every fad to fit in, most recently being goth. Miles is a bit of a drama queen. Just when Ever thinks she has things under control, as much as she can get them, she meets the new boy, Damen Auguste, who is gorgeous, rich and worldly. For some reason, he is the only one who can stop the voices and cease the auras. She is drawn into his world of mystery and is left with more questions than she can handle. But despite it all she has fallen so deeply in love with him she’s not sure what to do.

This book has so many great things. Not only is it centered on a love story, which seems to span generations, but it also has magic, suspense, paranormal activity, and lots and lots of drama. There are so many twists and turns that you will keep guessing through it all. Alyson Noel delivers a remarkable story, leaving you wanting more. Even though I have read the entire series, I plan on re-reading all of them again. There are six books in total in the series: Evermore, Blue Moon, Shadowland, Dark Flame, Night Star, and Everlasting. I can easily say that I enjoyed them all. If you have yet to read them, I would suggest picking up at least the first one, and enter into their magical world.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Release Day Tour - Mortal Heart by L.J. Sealey

Title: Mortal Heart Series: Divine Hunter Series Book #4 Release Date: 20th September 2019 Blurb: When two hearts ...